Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I have been reading the tire recommendations here for 4 years now. Many good posts and reviews!

I've been running the stock tires since 2016 but now it is time to decide on my first ever ATV replacement tires.

My biggest concern is traction on my cement driveway while plowing heavy snow. Probably any good tire will work for my trail riding as the stock tires did very well to keep me out of trouble. (I am not a balls-deep mud-hole type of rider...I go around those obstacles.)

So my questions are focused on improving traction while snow-plowing on relatively level cement (without using tire chains)

Has anyone found a superior snow-traction tire? Do you think a heavier (ply rating and actual weight) tire is better?

Super Moderator
There are not many tires out there that are going to improve your traction for plowing snow on cement.

To improve traction you would need to go to a tire that has more surface area while allowing treads to bite into the snow. That along with more weight on top of the Kodiak will help quite a bit. There have been times that I have placed a few cinder blocks onto the front and rear racks and then tied them down to get more weight to plow easier.

Reactions: Buckmaster

Registered
If you have 14" wheels you COULD use automotive snow tires lol.

Registered
I had the same quest and my research lead me to Kenda Bear Claws as my best option for all around tire (plowing, trails, mud, etc.). Went with 26鈥. Used them for everything except plowing so far and they鈥檝e been great.

Super Moderator