Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not thrilled with the factory tires that came on the Kodak 450. 2 ply CVT grip well but handle terrible. Was looking at replacing them with ITP Mud Lites or Kenda Bearclaws. Before i take the plunge I thought i would ask for recommendations. I do mostly trail riding, lots of rocks, tree limbs and medium to soft pack dirt. An occasional mud hole but 80 percent is incline trial riding 20 % really soft stuff or mud. Lots of hills near me so i'm always either going up or down an incline of sorts. Thanks for any and all your help.

·
Super Moderator
288 Posts
grab a set of knockoff bighorns. awesome all around tire.

·
Registered
700 Posts
I have no personal experience with Mud Lites but I've often heard them referred to as Plug Lites.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input. I will definitely look into what’s available locally. The tread pattern on the Bighorns look more geared to hard packed trails but hard to disagree with experience. Thanks again

·
Super Moderator
1,250 Posts
I would stay away from the mud type tires such as the Mud Lites. I had a set on my old 400 and they started to come apart at the ribs and I mostly ride like you on the trails and rocks.

·
Registered
85 Posts
I got the ITP mudlites XTR a year ago, and they have been great.They are a aggressive 6ply that after a little riding are much smoother riding than the factory tires. Not sure why someone would refer them as pluglights. I've never had them hold any mud. I have zero regrets. A friend of mine bought some ten years ago,and they are about 60% tread. He highly recommended them, and I'm happy I took his advice. Good luck!

·
Registered
65 Posts
I would like to see the whole test and see what tire won the best in the hill climb ?

·
Registered
65 Posts
Best hill climbing tire