Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just checked voltage to starter, i only have 6 volts at starter.I'm not a mechanic but i followed the positive feed from battery,it goes to i'm assuming a voltage regulator. there are two terminals there , i checked voltage at the out post to the starter and found 7 volts leaving this regulator. i checked the 2 15 amp fuses at this point and they seem to be ok. i noticed some type of fuse to the rear of the regulator (i'm calling it the regulator but not sure as i just came in from the garage and didn't have a chance to go online and get a electrical schematic of this unit).Looks like i need to replace this regulator. Am i on the right track? thanks for all the help.

Got a chance to look at the electrical schematic, what i was calling the voltage regulator is the starter relay assembly. guess i'll replace this and see what happens. any help would be appreciated. thanks

·
Super Moderator
1,228 Posts
How much voltage do you have on your battery?

When you measure the 7 volts on the starter is that with the start button pressed?

Without getting into all the cut offs and other switches in the starter system all you really have is a relay up in the main fuse box for the starter. All the other on/off/bypass/ and other switches for the starting system go to this relay so that it will either engage or not. With the relay engaged it will send the battery voltage to the starter.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How much voltage do you have on your battery?

When you measure the 7 volts on the starter is that with the start button pressed?