Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 2001 Kodiak 400 for my daughter to ride. I'll be the first to tell you that I am no mechanic. There's 3 things I don't mess with... high-voltage electricity, spinning blades, and complex mechanics. This rule has served me well... I still have all my hair, all my fingers, and half my common sense.

I'm just wondering what I should be looking at replacing and/or upgrading right out of the shoot. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Super Moderator
I had a 2000 and rode it for 17 years before getting rid of it and the only real thing that I did with it is to add a padded bag on the back of it. It took me everywhere that I wanted to go and more. It was a great machine and the only reason I got rid of it is that something happened to the engine where I was getting oil blow by into the air box and didn't want to deal with it.

Registered
Pablo, where in Minnesota are you located? I just recently picked up a 2000 Yamaha Kodiak 400, so far i really like it. So I'll be interested in hearing what others have to say to upgrade also. I did add new wheels and tires to mine, since I mainly use mine around the yard I'm trying to figure out a good receive hitch to put on it for a 1-1/4" ball mount, but not finding anything that is bolt on so I may have to make one.

Super Moderator
I don't believe that there is any bolt on ones except for some that just bolt into the existing hole which would make it more flimsy than what is on it now.

I pulled a 16' car hauler trailer around with mine and just a 2" ball in the factory hitch and it did just fine. The only problem that I had was the trailer jack coming real close to the rear rack. But other than that it did it even with a lot of extra weight on the trailer when I would pull it out of my back yard to the driveway to hook up to my truck.