Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been researching new tires, and I have narrowed it to a few options. Thought I would get opinions here....
Maxxis Bighorn 3, Sedona Rip Saw RT, Pitbull Growler. I’m thinking to go up to 26” too. I can’t help but consider the original Bighorn as well.
Seems like the Growler may be shortest life. Bighorn is most popular, Bighorn 3 is new.... and Rip Saw has limited info.
Do most of you buy at your dealer? Discount tire? Or online and install yourself?

·
Registered
472 Posts
There is a bunch of info on tires here, and I have limited experience on tires, but I like Bear Claws. I bought them on line great price and had a local tire shop mount them.

·
Registered
699 Posts
I absolutely LOVE my PitBull Growlers. In my case they are wearing like iron.

I have 3000 miles of hard use on my set and they are maybe a bit over 1/8 of an inch worn....

26" to 27" are perfect size tires.

Bighorns, Zillas, Bearclaws, Slingshots etc...are all great tires...

Discount tires generally have the best deals.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Is the Bear Claw a radial? It also gets good reviews and costs less. I have been reading the reviews here a lot. That’s where I found the Growler, thanks to Vincent... reviews are awesome, but it’s a little heavy and some people get chunking 🏻
Not sure how many more miles I want to put on these stock socks lol

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have to admit - I’m kinda leaning toward that Growler.
The Zilla seems awesome, but isn’t it more of a mud tire? I was aiming at a “trail tread”

·
Registered
699 Posts
You know you want a bad *** set of PitBull Growlers on your Kodiak!!!! Lol

Attachments

Reactions: Al_benny

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Wow! Those are beautifully aggressive!!! Do they fix the terrible handling? Are you on 26 or 27”?

·
Registered
232 Posts