Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings All,

I'm new to the Kodiak 700 Forum, but I just purchased a new 2021 Kodiak 700 EPS, and I'm curious to see if others have any trouble routinely starting there Kodiaks?

I'll start by saying that I live in relatively cold country (really cold in recent days!), and I'm hoping that's at the heart of my problem, but even at the dealership, which was located in a considerably warmer climate, this particular Kodiak seemed a bit finnicky when it came to starting and idling. For example, it took the salesman five to six cycles before it would eventually start and idle, and when it finally did, it seemed a bit rough at idle, with the odor of a somewhat rich fuel mixture.

Given these circumstances, what do some of you other Kodiak owners feel? Should I be concerned about it? Are the Yamaha (Grizzly/Kodiak models), generally problematic in this regard, even in warmer climates? Is it likely to be related to the fuel injection system? Basically, do you think I might have an issue with this particular unit?

Many thanks!

Super Moderator
For some reason these machines don't like to start up and run the first time that they are started when cold.

Mine will start and then die within seconds and then once it is restarted it will run all day long. Why? I have no idea.

I tried this winter to let the fuel pump pressurize completely before I tried to start, this seamed to work a couple of times but I am right back to starting it twice when it is cold.

Others have had the same problem and I don't know if anyone has found a solution to it.

On the fuel smell and having to try multiple times that may be your Kodiak but I haven't heard of anyone having that type of a problem. But then you have the 686 motor so there could be some different fuel strategies in the fuel management programing.

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply, Jim.