Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, new member here. A brief autobiography:

I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I have a 2016 Kodiak non-EPS in camo. It was my first brand new bike, but I've had other, more... um... used machines, including an '87 Honda TRX350 Fourtrax (toughest machine ever made), a '99 Kodiak 400, and an '03 Arctic Cat 400i FIS that is still in the family (sold to my brother-in-law). I'm a mechanic by trade, and in my free time I make stuff with metal.

Things I've done to the Kodiak so far:

Home made 2" receiver
Home made winch mount
Back seat
Windshield (Ugly, but form must follow function!)
Home made mount for a Kimpex Click-N-Go-2 with a home made plow
2" Lift kit
1" Wheel spacers

I specialize in automotive electrical stuff (Have three patents, one for tail light sequencers like the Mustangs have, one for a headlight flasher and one for a "blackout module" that kills all lights in a vehicle, or only selected lights, for police cars). Because i do electrical stuff, and because I'm a total magpie when it comes to sparkly stuff, I couldn't leave the Kodiak alone. Nothing elabourate, of course, since this is an offroad machine, but just some touches to make it mine:

"Angry eyes" white LED strips over the headlights, act as daytime running lights
LED Shifter light, because it's too damned dark where I usually ride, and before I got used to the bike it was a pain in the hoop trying to figure out what gear I was in
USB charging for the handlebar mounted Garmin E-Trex
LED lighting for the rear seat storage boxes
A horn (sounds like a stupid concept, but comes in really handy when trying to get the attention of another rider)
LED Backup lights that come on when the bike is shifted into reverse (again, dark)
LED mini light bars mounted to the windshield because I don't think I should have to buy an EPS model to get a third headlight