Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any way to make these makes have better throttle response from idle or a crawl? Once it revs it's got plenty of power but it sucks waiting for it to get there. Have grizzley weights and a 1.5mm shim already

·
Registered
530 Posts
Are you still running stock tires? Have you considered a stiffer spring in the secondary?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have 27 inch zillas but even with stock it was the same. I've been thinking about throwing a purple spring in the secondary. was wondering if the off idle lag was from it being to lean from factory and would adding a tuner help

·
Registered
530 Posts
I have 26” Zillas, 11” in rear and 9” in front and 1.5mm shim in primary with stock Kodiak weights. I am happy with the throttle response but I will probably eventually add a purple spring. A stiffer spring will help you. I have no experience with tuners but from everything I have read in the forums and seen on the internet a tuner would help you with this also. How do you like the throttle response when in low gear?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
in low gear its instant but revs out to quick to ride wheelies and what not. I want it that instant in high gear.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Then try a stiffer spring in the secondary it is supposed to keep you in low gear so to speak longer and it is a lot cheaper than a tuner

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
got a gold spring on the way and a ehs tuner coming when eric gets back to me

·
Registered
530 Posts
Let us know what you think of the results once you get them installed.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
will do for sure. i use to have a sportsman 850 which i loved the power but the yammy just feels so much better built. it just needs some fine tuning

·
Registered
703 Posts