Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am New to posting on the forum. This is my first time posting. I am from Jennings, Louisiana and I have a 2016 700 Kodiak SE that I bought used. I have had the jug, piston, rings, and valve seals changed in it by Friendly Yamaha in Baton Rouge, LA. So far so good. It has been 3 months and about 6 hrs on the New head. All is fine. No smoking any longer. I will make a New thread about the engine work on another day. The problem I am having now is the rear brakes. I didn't notice that the rear brake lever was rusted in the upward position till I had got it home. I was able to break it free and take the foot lever off with a lot of resistance from the rust that formed in the tube that holds the lever in place. I took it out and sanded it with my grinder and wheel brush and added some never seize in it. I adjusted my brake cables and got them to where I think they need to be. The problem is, I can use all my 195 lbs and stand on the rear brake and the bike continues rolling l, like I had not even been on the brakes. The only one's that work like they should are the front disc. I am guessing the original owner left the brake stuck in the down position, once it had rust and the brake pads, that are sealed in the housing, are either glazed over or they are completely worn out. I looked at a on-line parts diagram and it shows small disc that are in the housing. Can anyone elaborate on this for me? How hard would this job be? Any information is appreciated.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
1,231 Posts
The 2016 Kodiak uses a wet disk brake system for the rear. It is a assembly of clutches and disk that when engaged will slow down the machine.