Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I'm new to this, just purchased a used 2016 kodiak 700 base model, when I turn the key on I have power everywhere and I hear the fuel pump prime. But the engine light flashes, But when I push the button to start it in park or neutral nothing happens. Has anyone seen this before? Is there a way to bypass the push button? Thanks

·
Registered
129 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
Page from the owners manual :
http://www.kodiakowners.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=5882&thumb=1

For the base model I don't know of any way to read error codes only to take it in to a dealer.
Just jumping the starter and make it turn over is not going to make it run like a carburated engine. ECU has to work and all sensors and systems need to be in working order for an fuel injected machine to start and run.

You can check stuff over before taking it to a dealer:
Make sure your throttle cable is not stuck ( has to do with throttle position sensor) , check all fuses and make sure your battery is charged and good; look under the hood and around the bike for disconnected plugs and broken wires.

When you turn the ignition key on , do the N or P indicator lights light up? Have you tried to push the foot brake while starting? Is the Brake tail light working when you do that? Is the Kill Switch switched to run?

Good luck, let us know how it goes!

Attachments

·
Registered
112 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
Is the Kill Switch switched to run?

Good luck, let us know how it goes!
If I had a dollar for every time my father has "broken down" and abandoned a machine, either an ATV or a snowmobile, in the woods and sent me back to retrieve it, only to find that he hit the kill switch, I'd have, well, several dollars. Certainly enough for a Big Mac meal, anyway...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4