Purple or gold spring ? - Yamaha Kodiak 700 Forum
 2Likes

post #1 of 11 Old 10-30-2019, 01:27 PM Thread Starter

Purple or gold spring ?

I posted on grizzly central, but wanted input from kodiak owners.
17 kodiak 700- 28 inch cst wild thangs 12&10 wides will be installed on stock rims . Will be doing 1.5 shim and bought a purple spring but second guessing if I should have went with a gold spring. I will be leaving the stock rollers for now..
I am 6-3 280 lbs ,We ride lots of trails and will hit every mud hole , twice if itís a good one. So even though the wild thangs are only a few pounds heavier than zillas, I am wondering with my weight and getting in some thick mud if I should have gotten the gold spring ? But then wonder if the gold spring might be a bit much for trails . Any input greatly appreciated .
post #2 of 11 Old 10-30-2019, 02:52 PM

Garage
Following this for learning purposes . . .

I am new to Yamaha ATV's and am picking up a 2020 Kodiak tomorrow and am looking for mods/upgrades. Mine will be used for Util/Trails up new Gore Mt area so similar use to you and impact of changing things springs seems like a simple mod to do.
Rob-c likes this.

JKinPA

2020 Kodiak EPS SE Tactical Black
2012 XTZ 1200 Super Tenere
1988 Honda Fourtrax TRX300
post #3 of 11 Old 10-30-2019, 03:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob-c View Post
17 kodiak 700- 28 inch cst wild thangs 12&10 wides will be installed on stock rims . Will be doing 1.5 shim and bought a purple spring but second guessing if I should have went with a gold spring. I will be leaving the stock rollers for now..
I am 6-3 280 lbs ,We ride lots of trails and will hit every mud hole , twice if itís a good one. So even though the wild thangs are only a few pounds heavier than zillas, I am wondering with my weight and getting in some thick mud if I should have gotten the gold spring ? But then wonder if the gold spring might be a bit much for trails . Any input greatly appreciated .